Historical background • When the State of Jammu and Kashmir (J&K) became independent on 15 August 1947, its ruler, Maharaja Hari Singh, decided not to join India or Pakistan and thereby remain independent. • However, on 20 October 1947, when the intruders supported by the Pakistan army attacked the frontiers of the state, the ruler […]

Andhra Pradesh Assembly Passes Bill For Three State Capitals

  The Andhra Pradesh Assembly has passed The Andhra Pradesh Decentralisation and Equal Development of All Regions Bill, 2020, paving the way for three capitals for the state. Amaravati, where former Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu had hoped to build the capital, will now be only the legislative capital. Vishakhaptnam will become the executive capital, […]